Players of the Tournament, Black Caps squads announced at NICC
Date of Event : Mon Feb 13, 2017 10:19AM

The outstanding performances of the 2017 National Indigenous Cricket Championships have been recognised at a presentation dinner last night ahead of the Grand Finals today, with individual player awards announced as well as the men’s and women’s Black Caps squads for 2017.


New South Wales swept the individual player awards for the tournament, with Nathan Price named the men’s Player of the Tournament as well as the highest run scorer, and Ashleigh Gardner named women’s Player of the Tournament as well as being the highest run scorer and wicket taker.


Nathan Price had another outstanding NICC this year, scoring 248 runs at an average of 62 and a strike rate of 91.2. Price’s consistency was demonstrated in the fact he was New South Wales’ highest scoring batter in five of their six matches in the regular rounds of the championships. Western Australia’s Dane Ugle scored the second most runs at the NICC, 172 runs, while Queensland’s Preston White scored 168 runs.


Ashleigh Gardner was devastating with bat and ball during the NICC, playing a major hand in New South Wales making the Grand Final of the championships for the seventh consecutive year. Gardner scored 152 runs at a strike rate of 197.4 and with an average of 50.67, including a high score of 83. She also took nine wickets in four matches, the highlight being her 5/12 against Western Australia. New South Wales teammate Roxsanne Van-Veen (121) and the Northern Territory’s Carmella Gray (120) were the next most prolific run scorers, while Queensland’s Tamika Hansen (8 wickets) was runner up for highest wicket taker.


New South Wales’ Ben Mitchell recorded the most wickets in the men’s competition, heading into the final with 13 wickets to his name, including figures of 4/10 against Queensland. Mitchell outdid teammate Djali Bloomfield (11 wickets) and Tasmania’s Rhys Ward (11 wickets) to be the highest wicket taker.


In addition to the individual awards, the 2017 men’s and women’s Black Caps squads were announced, with players in the 12-member squads selected based on player performances throughout the NICC.


2017 Men’s Black Caps Squad:

Preston White (QLD)

Ben Abbatangelo (VIC)

Nathan Price (NSW)

Dane Ugle (WA)

Adam McDermott (QLD)

Hugh Sando (WA)

Zac Chapman (NT)

Ben Mitchell (NSW)

Keren Ugle (WA)

Rhys Ward (TAS)

Djali Bloomfield (NSW)

Worrin Williams (QLD)


2017 Women’s Black Caps Squad:

Ashleigh Gardner (NSW)

Roxsanne Van-Veen (NSW)

Carmella Gray (NT)

Nicole Honeysett (NT)

Carly Fuller (QLD)

Shaye Easton (QLD)

Sara Darney (NSW)

Sally Moylan (NT)

Tamika Hansen (QLD)

Kavita Pepper (WA)

Jemma Astley (NSW)

Julie Muir (NSW)


Queensland will play the New South Wales women’s team in the women’s Grant Final from 10am tomorrow at Traeger Park before Victoria takes on the New South Wales men’s team in the men’s Grand Final at the same ground from 2pm. The men’s and women’s Grand Final matches will be available via livestream on and the Cricket Australia Live App.

Last updated: Monday February 5, 2018 7:05PM

Principal Partner